She wants to give our marriage a five year break, should I let her?

Today I was invited to discuss a topic at Dembe Fm, a Nation Media Radio station. Bina Baibe, a famous presenter played a recording of a listener who has been staying in Pakistan for years, he has or he is married with four children. Six months ago, he had an argument with his wife who told him that she was tired of the whole marriage life, she asked him to give her a break. After a long argument, the husband gave in to her demands thinking it was a short period and maybe she was suffocated and really needed a break to set her mind straight.

L-R Christine Nakalungi and Bina Baibe. My Cinderella Story Photo

To his shock, the wife told him that she needs a break of five years. Whaaatttt? My eyes widened and my jaws dropped, “who even does that?” I asked.  Before I could step in with my wild views, Bina signaled me to keep on listening. “She gave me six months to come back home or she was going to take my children to a police station” The listener narrated. “At first, I thought it was a joke but did not want to risk so a few weeks to the end of the six months, I went to Uganda. I just boarded an airport taxi from the airport and on arrival at our home, she just looked at me with disgust, no welcome at all; I teased her but she wasn’t interested. I called out the children to get my stuff from the taxi but she told me the children were sent to their grandmother. I wasn’t amused at her decision but kept my cool. I had come back home to take care of my children and they were not even around!”

By this time, I had got my peace with the idea of a break but I knew something wasn’t right. The question is, should I give her this break and what will happen within these five years?

Reported by Christine Nakalungi

 

Leave a comment